Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Global Taiwan Studies Salon: The Impact of the COVID-19 Crisis on Taiwan’s External Relations: Views from Japan

October 2, 2020 - 14:00-15:30

Organised by the Japanese Association of Taiwan Studies, International Journal of Taiwan Studies, European Association of Taiwan Studies, North American Taiwan Studies Association

The COVID-19 has been described as a β€œcatalyst.” It accelerates previously existing changes in society. In less than three months, the epidemic which started in China quickly became a global pandemic, coming to bear in significant ways on national economies, societies, politics and international relations. Already strained Cross-Strait and Sino-U.S. relations have further deteriorated during the pandemic, while U.S. support for Taiwan has strengthened in important ways, and will likely continue to improve moving forward. Why and how has the pandemic changed Taiwan’s external relations in general, and Taiwan-Japan relations in particular? Three presenters from Japan will share their views on the catalytic effect that COVID-19 has had on Taiwan’s external relations, including old and new challenges therein.

Presentation topics and Speakers:
Cross-Strait Relations: Yasuhiro Matsuda (The University of Tokyo)
US- China-Taiwan Relations: Ryo Sahashi (The University of Tokyo)
Japan-Taiwan Relations: Madoka Fukuda (Hosei University)

Moderator: Atsushi Sugano (Meio University)

Please note that this talk will take place at Japan time 9-10:30pm // Taiwan time 8-9:30pm // UK 1-2:30pm // US EDT 8-9:30am

Please RSVP at:http://bit.ly/jatscovid.
The event will be recorded and the link to the event will be announced after the event.
Global Taiwan Studies Salon: The Impact of the COVID-19 Crisis on Taiwan’s External Relations: Views from Japan

Details

Date:
October 2, 2020
Time:
14:00-15:30