Living in Interesting Times: Patterns and Problems in Contemporary Thai Politics

Sep
15
16:00 to 17:00
TS4 Webinar

Join Professor Hicken (University of Michigan) to delve into some of the complex issues impacting contemporary Thai politics.

The last quarter century has been politically tumultuous, even by Thai historical standards. In this talk Professor Hicken will discuss the evolution (and de-evolution) of political attitudes, behaviors, and institutions in Thailand. The talk will highlight the changes he observed (both promising and worrisome), as well as some surprising continuities.

About the TS4 Series:
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS) and the New York Southeast Asia Network (NYSEAN), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Thailand. In addition to providing in-depth scholarly analysis of social issues in Thailand, this series will foster new opportunities for networking between those working in Thailand and around the world.

TIMEZONES:
15 September, 07:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 16:00 CET / 21:00 ICT

Register via this link

Please note that by registering for this event, you will automatically be subscribed to the SSEAC mailing list. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss accessibility requirements, please feel free to email: [email protected]

Organizer(s):
Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS), and the New York Southeast Asia Network (NYSEAN)
Location:
Zoom

Other events

All events
Oct
25

ChinaTalk: Kuaishou and the Limits of Social Mobility in Digital China

Oct 25, 2022, 16:00 - Oct 16, 2022, 17:30
Read more
Oct
26

Call for Papers: Asian Studies Doctoral Seminar 22

Oct 26, 2022, 00:00 - Oct 27, 2022, 00:00
Read more