Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

New Type of Great Power Relations: Global Power and Chinese National Identity

March 3, 2021 - 15:00-16:30

China’s global economic and political power has expanded. How will China use its new position to change the world? How does the country’s rise change its self-perception?

Design by Katharine Gill. Photo: Nabeel Hussain, Unsplash

China’s global economic and political power has expanded. How will China use its new position to change the world? How does the country’s rise change its self-perception? Manjari Chatterjee Miller will discuss how China’s elites actively reframe the country’s image based on her book  Why Nations Rise: Narratives and the Path to Great Power (Oxford University Press 2021). Lina Benabdallah’s presentation  probes the type of power mechanisms that build, diffuse, and project China’s power in Africa. It draws on her book Shaping the future of power. Knowledge Production and Network Building in China-Africa Relations (University of Michigan Press 2020).

International time: 22:00 Beijing, 15:00 Oslo, 09:00 Washington DC

For more information click here

Register here

New Type of Great Power Relations: Global Power and Chinese National Identity

Venue

Zoom

Organisers

Department of Culture Studies and Oriental Languages at the University of Oslo (UiO)
Brokering China’s Extraversion (Brokex)